Day: November 10, 2020

Watch Apple unveil the first ARM-based Mac live right here – TechCrunch

Apple is organizing its third event in three months today. The company is holding a (virtual) keynote at 10 AM PT (1 PM in New York, 6 PM in London, 7 PM in Paris). And you’ll be able to watch the event right here as the company is streaming it live.

Apple has already announced at its developer conference that there would be a new Mac with an ARM-based processor this year. So today’s event seems like the perfect opportunity to introduce a new computer with Apple’s own processor.

Similarly, we’ll likely find out when macOS Big Sur is going to be released. The new major update is likely to ship with the new Apple computer. Apple could also use this opportunity for other, smaller announcements. Let’s see if the company has some new accessories to show off.

You can watch the live stream directly on this page, as

Read more

The future of programming languages: What to expect in this new Infrastructure as Code world

Commentary: New declarative programming languages like HCL and Polar might just be the perfect way to boost productivity with IaC.

Image: DragonImages, Getty Images/iStockphoto

There are a lot of programming languages–over 700, as Wikipedia lists them. And yet, we arguably don’t have nearly enough programming languages. Not since cloud upended the way applications get built. 

Must-read developer content

Developers are moving away from managing physical servers to calling APIs that touch storage, compute, and networking resources. In turn, developers are trying to automate everything as code through static configurations, scripts, and files. Such automation would be easier if developers had programming languages that matched the task at hand, but they don’t. So, using a general purpose language like Java, a developer might invest thousands of lines of code to try to express business logic…and mostly fail. 

To solve for this, we’re seeing companies like HashiCorp (HCL) and oso (Polar)

Read more

Sony PS5: It’s not too late, here’s where to buy the next-gen gaming console

The new PS5 console launches on Nov. 12 and here’s how to grab one from Amazon, Target or Best Buy.

The PS5 goes on sale Nov. 12 in the US and Canada.

Image: Sony Interactive Entertainment

Sony’s long-awaited PlayStation 5 goes on sale Nov. 12. But with PS5 pre-orders sold out since September, it’s been causing gamers and parents stress as they try to ensure they’ll have the next-gen console in hand when it is released this week. 

While nothing is promised, here’s a bit of help on how to grab a rare pre-order or snag a PS5 after they’re released on Nov. 12 in the US. 

The PS5 will launch two versions at the same time. There will be a $400 digital-only model and a $500 console version. The only difference between the two is that the console edition includes an Ultra HD Blu-ray disc drive to allow for

Read more